If you like Judith McNaught….

I read somewhere that Judith McNaught is in a class by herself, and believe me, as time goes by, the more I read, the more I agree with this statement. All her works, whether historical or contemporary, offer an incredible combination of an exceptional story, incredibly realistic characters, and a perfect dose of emotionality. Each of their stories is unique and unforgettable.

There are a lot of new authors, a large number of books are published daily, but her sensational romances from high society, written in a seemingly ordinary and simple style, still cause excitement and respect among readers. The magic is born in the mastery of Judith who manages to combine time, space, and language in each page and to insert a perfect dose of emotions, which no matter how hard I try I cannot forget the well-developed characters, even though years have passed since reading.

And it is very difficult to judge other works when you take her books as a starting point when the criteria are so high. But here I have tried to make a list of authors and works that can somewhat match the perfection called Judith’s magic.

Historical Romance

Although she writes quite differently, Julie Garwood is definitely the author who should be on this list. With strong heroines who always stand up to the hero and never be meek, and heroes who are exceptional and swoon-worthy, each of her books offers real enjoyment. Her trademark is the Scottish lords were so refreshing from the usual London aristocracy. The book that impressed me the most is ‘The Bride’.

Gaelen Foley is the author, who most definitely deserves a place here. New York Times, USA Today, and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author, she is the author of twenty historical romances set in the glittering world of Regency England. One that really amazed me is ‘The Duke’, a book that most definitely will delight every historical romance reader.

We cannot talk about history romance writers and not mention Jude Deveraux, the​ ​author​ ​of​ ​forty-three​ ​New​ ​York​ ​Times​ ​bestsellers,​ ​including​ ​​Sweet​ ​Liar​,​ ​the​ ​Nantucket series,​ ​and​ ​​A​ ​Knight​ ​in​ ​Shining​ ​Armor​.​ ​She​ ​was​ ​honored​ ​with​ ​a​ ​Romantic​ ​Times​ ​Pioneer​ ​Award​ ​in​ ​2013​ ​for​ ​her distinguished​ ​career.​ ​To​ ​date,​ ​there​ ​are​ ​more​ ​than​ ​sixty​-​million​ ​copies​ ​of​ ​her​ ​books​ ​in​ ​print​ ​worldwide. My personal favorite is the glorious love story that spans centuries, worlds, and souls…A Knight In Shining Armor will capture your heart — and hold it.

Contemporary Romance

Well, is there a romance reader who hasn’t heard about Susan Elizabeth Phillips? The only four-time recipient of the Romance Writers of America’s prestigious Favorite Book of the Year Award, and a recipient of their Lifetime Achievement Award, her books will most definitely take you on a journey that you’ll not forget after you finish the last lines… My recommendation is ‘Kiss an Angel’, a book that will delight you with the unique storyline, witty banter, and perfect humor.

The last on this list is Linda Howard, an author that will delight every reader with her originality. Linda Howard writes with power, stunning sensuality, and a storytelling ability unmatched in romance drama. Every book is delightful and unique. One that I most definitely enjoyed is ‘After The Night’. 

Is there an author who deserves to be on this list? If you have a suggestion for me, please share it….

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s