An Imperfect Christmas: A heart-warming holiday romance by Tanya Jean Russell #Review

Title: An Imperfect Christmas: A heart-warming holiday romance

Author: Tanya Jean Russell 

Release Date:  November 19th 2020

Length:  221 pages

Genre: Holiday Fiction

Publisher: Sapere Books

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Goodreads  Amazon

****Blurb****

A wonderfully festive read – just in time for Christmas! Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Victoria Walters, Heidi Swain and Phillipa Ashley…

How do you pick yourself up when everything is falling apart…?

Twenty-five-year-old Maggie Green thought she had her life on the perfect track: a long-term relationship, a successful career in finance and a swanky apartment in London.

But then everything falls apart.

The company she has worked so hard for makes her redundant, and she gets dumped on the same day.

Not to mention the worrying call she’s received from her doctor.

With her pride in tatters, Maggie returns to her family home for the Christmas period. A home she hasn’t returned to for two years.

No one knows the real reason why she hasn’t been back. No one, that is, except the one person who she is most nervous about seeing again.

Will Maggie make peace with her past? Can she find love this Christmas?


Or will more obstacles be thrown in her way…?



An Imperfect Christmas is a contemporary festive romance set in the English countryside. This charming holiday read is perfect for cozy winter nights.

**** My Review ****

Sometimes all efforts are in vain, no matter how hard we try, no matter how hard we fight …. destiny has other plans for us, just like pawns in a game for which we do not know the rules, nor do we have the opportunity to change anything .. .Bad or good … it all depends on which angle you look from, sometimes the most beautiful rainbow emerges after the darkest storms …

This story tells of a storm, a storm that unexpectedly engulfs our heroine Maggie, the young accountant who’s seemingly created her perfect life, just to see everything fall apart like a tower of cards. Her dreams, her hopes, her prestigious job, her perfect boyfriend…..everything is gone. And the terrible news about her health is just a painful reminder of fragility, something that simply destroys all hope. Will she find some hope in her hometown? Her family is there, Nathan is there…but some things remain the same. The misunderstandings are yet to be cleared, but the memories still hurt. Yes, Nathan is there, but can their relationship be repaired?

A Christmas-themed emotional read that actually didn’t feel very Christmassy, but the emotional part is on its highest. The premise is really sweet, the idea of a second chance is great, while the author explores topics that are simply quite serious, such as trust problems, such as cancer, something that is not easy to write or read. And somehow I could not get rid of the feeling that this very topic deserves to be depicted and presented a little more delicately. Everyone reacts differently, but I guess all those who have been affected by it will have a much more emotional experience of the story. It was easy to read and to follow, though I would have loved a deeper character development. I simply failed to connect with Maggie, she was frustrating at times, and I couldn’t understand her reasoning and her story completely. The ending was amazing.

If you’re looking for a Christmas-themed story that is easy to read and follow, but emotional enough to keep your attention, then you should definitely check this one.

****About the Author****


Tanya Jean Russell writes romantics suspense and lives in England. She is married to an amazing Elvis & Neil Diamond Tribute artist, thanks to whom she has a house full of jumpsuits & trophies. Something which is, of course, a source of much embarrassment to her two teenage children.

She is a little obsessive about books and has an embarrassingly huge (and ever growing) pile of things that she just ‘has’ to read next to her bed. Something that isn’t helped by being a part of the Romantic Novelist Association, or by being published by the amazing Evernight Publishing. With both organisations filled with talented writers, she keeps adding to her pile!

Tanya Jean squeezes her daydreaming … ahem … ‘writing’ around her family and her day job in HR, and is convinced that chocolate & diet coke should be considered a well-balanced diet.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s