The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr

Title: The Resistance Girl

Author: Jina Bacarr

Release Date:  October 27, 2020

Length:  399  pages

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Goodreads  Amazon

****Blurb****

Two women. One heartbreaking secret.

Paris, 1943.

Sylvie Martone is the star of French cinema, adored by fans and on the good side of the Nazi officers who swarm the streets of Paris. Chosen as one of Goebbels’ select few, she is torn between her duty to her country and her desire to survive.

As she walks the city arm in arm with an SS Officer, her fellow Parisians begin to turn against her. But Sylvie has a secret – one she must protect with her life.

Paris, 2020.

Juliana Chastain doesn’t know anything about her family history. While her mother was alive she remained very secretive about her past.

So when Juliana discovers a photograph of a glamorous French actress from World War Two amongst her mother’s possessions, she is in shock to find herself looking at her grandmother – especailly as she is arm in arm with a Nazi Officer…

Desperate for answers, Juliana is determined to trace the journey of her grandmother. Surely there is more to the photograph than meets the eye?

But as she delves into Sylvie’s past, nothing can prepare Juliane for the tales of secrets, betrayal and sacrifice which she will uncover.

A heart-wrenching story of love and redemption, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff and Suzanne Goldring.

        **** My Review ****

If you are looking for a story that will touch your heart in many ways, that will awaken your emotions, fill your eyes with tears and make you think deeply, then you should definitely read this book.

When I chose ‘The Resistance Girl’, I knew it would shake me to the core, but I was not prepared for all these emotions. I avoided it for a while, but I read it … I read it and I still can’t find the right words to be able to describe all those emotions and thoughts that flooded me …

Two exceptional women, brave and proud … two time periods, perfectly intertwined in a flawless story that masterfully tells about love, sacrifice, loyalty to loved ones, struggle ….

What is the truth behind the photos? What exactly is seen and what is hidden behind the visible? Somewhere out there … hidden behind the obvious is the story of Sylvie Martone, the story her granddaughter Juliana is looking for … the story that will prove the truth …

Alternating between the past and the present, the author delivers this amazing storyline, that portrays some distant times…known but still so strange to us… Times when truths needed to be veiled under different secrets in order to achieve something bigger, more important… Times when liberties were more than luxury… Times of war, where the truth and realities change to suit the need. Roses and happiness are far from reach, when survival clashes with integrity and honor….

With moments of intrigue and great, detailed descriptions, the book will definitely make readers visualize WW2. The alternating 1st POV narrative gives great insight into the main characters that help readers to fully understand the story.

All in all, this heart-breaking and heart-warming story is more than a perfect choice for every reader who would enjoy a thought-provoking piece of historical fiction that contains more hidden truths than many others.

****About the author****


Jina Bacarr loves dark chocolate truffles and rainy days in museums…

Born

The United States

Website

http://jinabacarr.wordpress.com

Twitter

JinaBacarr

Genre

Romance, Historical Fiction, Nonfiction

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s